Mission KS
 
Alcohol Liquor License

In order to receive a City business occupational license and City liquor license, all establishments selling alcoholic liquors either by the package or by the drink must be licensed by the State of Kansas in accordance with the Kansas Liquor Control Act, and must provide a copy of that license to the Mission City Clerk when making application for a city issued alcoholic liquor license. The city license and the state liquor license will run concurrent for a period of two years.

 

As defined in Mission City Code, alcoholic liquor includes "...alcohol, spirits, wine, beer and every liquid or solid, patented or not, containing alcohol, spirits, wine or beer and capable of being consumed as a beverage by a human being, but shall not include any cereal malt beverage." In addition to requiring a State liquor license, the City does impose specific requirements on establishments selling alcoholic liquor, including:

  • Alcoholic liquor cannot be sold within 200 feet of any church, school, nursing home, library or hospital unless the establishment is granted a waiver by the governing body of the city and
  • Package liquor sales are allowed between the hours of 9:00 a.m. and 11:00 p.m., Monday through Saturday, 12:00 noon through 8:00 p.m. on Sundays, and are prohibited on specific holidays.

 

Alcohol Liquor License Fees

  • Retailer's license of alcoholic liquors including beer containing more than a 3.2% of alcohol by weight, for consumption off the premise, sales in the original package only: $600 for the two year license.
  • Caterers: $100.00/year
  • Temporary Permits: $25.00/day

 

Complete information on the general requirements for the sale of alcoholic liquor in Mission is available in Chapter 600 of the City Code.

 

If you still have questions or need additional guidance on applying for an alcoholic liquor license from the City of Mission, please call our City Clerk's Office at 913-676-8350.


Cereal Malt Beverage License

 

Persons wishing to sell any cereal malt beverage at retail must have a license issued by the City Clerk. It is unlawful for any person, having a license to sell cereal malt beverages at retail except in the original and unopened containers and not for consumption on the premises, or to sell any cereal malt beverage in any other manner.

 

No cereal malt beverage may be sold or consumed between the hours of 12:00 midnight and 6:00 A.M., or on Sunday, except in a place of business which is licensed to sell cereal malt beverage for consumption on the premises. In order to sell cereal malt beverages for consumption on the premise the business must derive more than 30% of its gross receipts from the sale of food.

 

No cereal malt beverage license shall be transferred to another licensee under any circumstances, nor may any license be transferable by the licensee from one location to another without consent of the governing body. Every licensee shall immediately notify and provide to the city clerk the information required under K.S.A. 41-2702 in relation to any new managers, partners, officers, directors or stockholders holding in the aggregate more than 25% of the corporate stock of such business.

 

Complete information on the cereal malt beverage licensing process, requirements, and restrictions are contained in Chapter 600 of the Mission City Code.

 

Fees

  • retail sale of cereal malt beverages: $75.00
  • on-premise consumption: 125.00

 

(Both fees include a state required $25.00 filing fee.)


 

If you still have questions or need additional guidance on applying for a cereal malt beverage license from the City of Mission, please email or call our City Clerk's Office at 913-676-8350.


Drinking Establishment License Application

 

Operation of a drinking establishment or a private club requires a City license. Specific application processes, requirements and restrictions for private clubs are contained in Chapter 600, Article IV, and for drinking establishments in Chapter 600, Article V of the City Code

 

Fees

The license fee for a drinking establishment, or a Class "A" or Class "B" private club is $250.00 per year.


 

If you still have questions or need additional guidance on applying for a private club or drinking establishment license from the City of Mission, please email or call the City Clerk at 913-676-8350.

 

Private Club License Application

 

Operation of a private club or a drinking establishment requires a City license.  Specific application processes, requirements and restrictions for private clubs are contained in Chapter 600, Article IV and for drinking establishments in Chapter 600, Article V of the City Code.

 

Fees

The license fee for a Class "A" or Class "B" private club, or a drinking establishment is $250.00 per year.


 

If you still have questions or need additional guidance on applying for a private club or drinking establishment license from the City of Mission, please email or call the City Clerk at 913-676-8350.

 

 

     
     
     
    City of Mission
    6090 Woodson    Mission, KS 66202    |    City Hall: 913-676-8350    |    Community Center: 913-722-8200    |   Emergency: 911
    Site Map   |  Contact Us   |   Powered by MunicipalCMS
     
    E-notify RSS Feeds Twitter Facebook 
    0